Notice of Annual General Meeting

Notice of Annual General Meeting & POWER/SCOPE Awards


Tuesday, June 18, 2019

35 Aikman Ave., Hamilton, ON

4 p.m. to 6:30 p.m.


4 pm Registration, Entertainment & Speaker

5 pm AGM

5:30 pm Dinner

6 pm Award Presentations


This meeting will include the election of officers to the board of directors.


Please update your membership to ensure voting privileges.

If you will be attending please call 905-545-2525



SCOPE Awards - Supporting Consumer Opportunities for Empowerment

SCOPE awards recognize people for their contributions and efforts which empower consumer/survivors of the mental health system in Hamilton.

Nominations are made by mental health consumer/survivors who are members and staff of the MHRC.  Those receiving the award may be family, friends, and  support workers.  It is an opportunity for consumers to publicly thank those who have supported and continue to support them in their recovery.  MHRC staff are not eligible for this award. 

This is a non-competitive award event. All eligible nominees will receive an award. Nominees and their nominators will be invited to the awards presentation at the Annual General Meeting.

Nomination forms are available in office or below. Please return to the office by September 1st.

SCOPE Award Nomination form

Scope Awards Nomination form.pdf 151.2KB

Return by June 10

POWER Award - Peer's Outstanding Work Empowering Recovery

The POWER Award is given to one peer support worker as chosen by an executive committee of Mental Health Rights Coalition. This award recognizes certified Peer Support Workers who go above and beyond in supporting the empowerment and recovery of consumers.

This award was initiated by the Mental Health Rights Coalition in 2011.  MHRC is proud of the work done by peers in the mental health system and believes their efforts are often lacking reward. 


The “POWER” Award is offered to a certified peer support worker who has shown outstanding ability and compassion in their formal role as peer supporter with consumers of mental health and addiction in a consumer organization, agency or business within the City of Hamilton and surrounding area.  This award is only available for front line staff who have graduated from a recognized peer support  training program.  It excludes management. 


Nominations must include the name and workplace of the nominee, the reason for nomination and 2 names supporting nomination.

Nomination forms are available in our office or below. Please return to the office by September 1st.


POWER Award Nomination Form

Power Award Nomination form.pdf 199.3KB

Return by June 10

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors to be confirmed at the Annual General Meeting is composed of:

Christine Hawkins - Board Chair

Jennifer Armstrong

Karen Dixon

Wayne Perry

Sadie Wolfe

Martin Verrall

Holly Angus

Reports will be available for review at the Annual General Meeting and are available by request at the MHRC office.